PharmaDose - Shivam Bhaduria

Insights into the Lives of Healthcare Professionals and Students. A Glimpse into the Life of Shivam Bhaduria.
Shivam Bhaduria,
B.Pharm from Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda, India (2020-2024)
Shivam Bhaduria, B.Pharm from Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda, India (2020-2024)

Name: Shivam Bhaduria

Birth Place: Agra, India

Educational Qualification: B.Pharm from Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda, India (2020-2024)

Languages you speak or write: English and Hindi

  1. What do you do?

    I am currently a final year Undergraduate Student pursuing B. Pharmacy from Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda, Punjab.

  2. What’s the best part of your profession?

    The best part about my profession is that it deals with the aim to work for the betterment of mankind and bring out medications for the societal benefits at large. I chose pharmacy as a profession because of the wide scope and opportunities it offers, focusing on drug designing, developing lead molecular structures, formulation development, and research exposure.

  3. What made you choose this profession? Are you happy/satisfied with the current scenario of pharmacy education in your country'

    I am certainly satisfied with the current scenario of pharmacy education in India. Being in this profession for the past three years, I have realized that Pharmacy Education in India has spread its wings and boosted immense research and development in the field of drug discovery & development. It's because of the great and solid research-oriented education in pharmaceuticals that India is recognized as the 'Pharmacy of the World.'

  4. What can be done to improve education in this sector?

    To improve education in this sector, we can implement several measures:

    1. Avoid awarding fake degrees to individuals.

    2. Place more focus on practical learning rather than simply imparting theoretical knowledge.

    3. Make industrial as well as hospital trainings compulsory for students to prepare them for the competitive world.

    4. Include regular communication, training, and placement classes in the curriculum.

  5. What are some fun facts about pharmacy that you want the readers to know?

    A fun fact about pharmacy that you might find interesting is that certain flavors of medicines are intentionally designed to be unpleasant to discourage children from consuming them excessively.

  6. What are the challenged that you face in your day-to-day life?

    As an undergraduate student, the major challenge I face is managing my studies along with extracurricular activities, competitions, and scientific writing. However, this hectic schedule has taught me to effectively manage time, work under stress and pressure, and maintain a balance between my personal and professional life.

  7. What is the salary one can expect after completing graduation in pharmacy as a fresher?

    As a fresher, one could expect a salary as high as 7 lakhs per annum in various domains of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Being a technical and professional course, individuals in the pharma field also deserve a handsome salary, similar to that of an MBBS Doctor or a Computer Science Engineer.

  8. Is there a healthy work-life balance in your profession?

    Being a robust and dynamic career option, pharmacy definitely offers a healthy work-life balance.

  9. Do you like reading?

    Yes, I do enjoy reading inspirational writings.

  10. What is your favorite dish?

    My favorite dish is Aloo Parathas made by my mom.

  11. What’s one thing that people are generally surprised to find out about you?

    One thing that people are generally surprised to find out about me is my ability to manage my professional and personal life despite being involved in numerous events and extra committees.

  12. What is your least favourite subject?

    My least favorite is Medicinal Chemistry.

  13. Your favourite subject(s)?

    My favorite subject is Pharmaceutics.

  14. What’s something you wish to change about the world?

    If I had the power to change something about the world, I would like to change the meager mentality of youngsters towards their parents when they grow up and inculcate in them the traits of selfless love, humbleness, and kindness. It's really a sad sight to see youngsters leaving their parents in shelter homes in their old age and thinking of them as a burden on their shoulders.

  15. What’s your biggest fear?

    My biggest fear is losing my loved ones.

  16. Best/memorable moment

    Two of my best and most memorable moments were when I got appointed as the Captain in the School Cabinet on the day of my parent's marriage anniversary, and when I got my first review article published in the 2nd year of graduation.

  17. What do you love to do in your leisure time?

    In my leisure time, I love listening to music.

  18. What do you hate the most?

    The feeling of jealousy that exists between people, particularly of the same group, is something I hate the most.

  19. If given a choice, what alternate career would you have opted for?

    If given an alternate career choice, I would have opted to be a "Scientist in DRDO."

  20. What is your dream travel destination?

    My dream travel destinations in India are Kedarnath and Rameshwaram to experience the divine power. Abroad, I would love to travel to the Maldives.

  21. Where would you like to work in future?

    In the future, I would like to work as a gazetted officer under the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India.

  22. Finally, a Quote you relate to.

    A quote I relate to is, "Winners are not those who never fail but those who never quit."

  23. What else would you like to tell about yourself?

    I am an organized, top performer, and goal-driven individual with a keen interest in research and publications. I am skilled in professional writing, articles, and book chapters. As a growing individual, I have an extensive interest in seeking newer and dynamic opportunities. I am well-versed in research-oriented marketing abilities and have experience as a Market Research Intern and Campus Ambassador for various fests and events. I am adaptive and a fast learner with innate communication skills, natural curiosity, and a thirst for learning.